Home Politics Elections Election 2018 Election 2018: Ohio and Athens County Midterm Results

Election 2018: Ohio and Athens County Midterm Results

4 min read
Photo by Maggie Prosser.

Results of the 2018 General Election follow as of Tuesday, Nov. 6 after 11:30 p.m.:

State Results

Republican Mike DeWine defeated Democrat Richard Cordray in the governor’s race, with 50.7 percent voting for DeWine and 46.4 percent for Cordray. Libertarian Travis Irvine earned 1.8 percent of the vote and Green Party candidate Constance Gadell-Newton earned 1.1 percent. 

Incumbent Democratic Sen. Sherrod Brown defeated Republican Jim Renacci, with 53.2 percent of voters voting for Brown and 46.8 percent voting for Renacci.

Republican Dave Yost won the race for state attorney general against Democrat Steve Dettelbach, with 52.4 percent of votes compared to Dettelbach’s 47.6 percent.

Republican Frank LaRose beat out Democrat Kathleen Clyde for secretary of state; 50.9 percent voted for LaRose and 46.7 voted for Clyde. Libertarian Dustin Nanna earned 2.3 percent of the vote. 

For state auditor, Republican Keith Faber defeated Democrat Zack Space, with 49.9 percent voting for Faber and 46.1 percent voting for Space. Libertarian Robert Coogan earned 4.0 percent of the vote.

Republican Robert Sprague was elected state treasurer with 53.5 percent of the vote, beating Democrat Rob Richardson who garnered 46.5 percent of the vote.

Republicans won every executive position in the state.

Local Results

Republican U.S. House Rep. Steve Stivers of the 15th district — which Athens is in — held his seat against challenger Democrat Rick Neal. 58.5 percent voted for Stivers and 39.5 percent voted for Neal, while 1.9 percent voted for Libertarian Jonathan Miller.

Incumbent State Rep. Jay Edwards (R) of state District 94 defeated challenger Taylor Sappington (D) with 58 percent voting for Edwards and 42 percent voting for Sappington. However, Sappington won the majority of votes in Athens County.

Republican Jill A. Thompson beat Democrat Dave Owen for county auditor, with 51 percent of voters voting for Thompson and 49 percent voting for Owen.

Democrat Lenny Eliason defeated Republican Bill Hayes for county commissioner, with 65.3 percent voting for Eliason and 34.8 percent voting for Hayes.

Finally, for county treasurer, Democrat Ric Wasserman beat Republican Gary Van Meter; 61.5 percent voted for Wasserman and 38.5 percent voted for Van Meter.

The Issues

Issue 1, a proposed Ohio state constitutional amendment that would lower sentences and penalties for certain drug offenses, failed. Approximately 64 percent of voters voted no, while only 36.6 percent voted yes.

Issue 3, an Athens school levy to raise funds to construct and renovate buildings in the district, passed with 52.47 percent voting yes to 47.53 percent voting no.

Issue 4, a renewal levy to pay for county emergency medical services, passed with 72.51 percent of voters voting yes and 27.49 percent of voters voting no.

Issue 5, a levy replacing an old levy that pays for the Athens City-Council Health Department, passed with 66.57 of voters voting yes and 33.43 percent of voters voting no.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Nathan Hart

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

The aftershock of Kaitlin Bennett’s Ohio U visit

The ripple of Kaitlin Bennett’s Ohio University visit is still being felt by the instituti…