Home Politics Student Senate loses six members after “Direct Democracy reform” debate

Student Senate loses six members after “Direct Democracy reform” debate

3 min read

During the Student Senate general assembly this Wednesday, six students resigned from their respective positions after reading an impassioned statement protesting Senate’s failure to pass the “Direct Democracy” proposal at last week’s meeting.

The six students who resigned included LGBTQA senator Casi Arnold, Honors Tutorial College Senator Daniel Kington, College of Arts and Sciences Senator Hayley Oliver, Off-Campus Senator Keelan O’Sullivan, Off-Campus Senator Kim Oswald and Environmental Affairs Commissioner Grant Stover.

Daniel Kington delivered the statement that appeared to be handwritten on loose-leaf paper.

Kington claimed that the 33-7 decision to not pass this resolution does not contribute to the overall vision for the university at large, which the six vehemently support.

“Ultimately the dream, as idealistic as it may seem, comes from a place of love and a desire to be good; to change the oppressive structures to which we are all subjected.”

To challenge these structures, Kington and the other five students said they are focusing their efforts on the Ohio University Student Union.

After the statement, the six students and fellow Student Union members left the meeting.

Later in the evening, Student Senate President Gabby Bacha commented to the assembly that  “we’re actually working on some very tangible goals right now.”

Additionally, she reassured the assembly that “Student Senate may not be everyone’s bread and butter … there are a lot of forms of student advocacy on this campus. But I want you all to realize that what you do is important work, and we do more than just have Blue Books.”

Director of University Relations Landen Lama said that he would open up the body for applications for the newly-vacant positions. For more information, email [email protected]

CORRECTION: The original article had it that Casi Arnold was the LGBTQA commissioner. Paige Klatt is the commissioner, and Arnold was a senator in the commission.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By The New Political

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

PHOTOS: Black Lives Matter protesters take to Athens County courthouse

More than one hundred protesters lined the sidewalk outside of the Athens County courthous…